love and heretics

It's better to light a candle than curse the darkness

Haunted by humans…..

Haunted by humans…..
I must say for me….the reflections in humanity….

the rare moments that take my breath away…

are those moments when humans rise above their self…

and give to another…a smile, a hug,

sharing a tear…bearing anothers burden…

someone willing to make a sacrifice for another when it hurts them…

those moments cause me to weep uncontrollable…

because it is in those moments…

I become haunted by the hope of Love….

I am given a rare glimpse of something more than just survival instinct…

something beyond this world…

reflections of Love….

I have found that when interacting with humans, we can be rude, selfish , backstabbing, greedy, possessive, envious, lustfilled, and just plain mean….but I have also found that humans can be beautiful! We can far surpass what I could have hoped for in grace and calm and peaceful demeanor…a true representatives of love.. I have enjoyed my experience with humans completely and am deeply thankful for all I have been allowed to converse with . I have been challenged and engaged to think, brought to laughter and to tears… I have been moved.

Humans are a complicated thing…they can do the most horrible, the worst imaginable things, they can stab one another in the back, lie to one another’s face…and yet they can also be the most beautiful thing…a poem, a song, a sacrifice of love, an encouragement, an act of nobility and courage…

here is a quote from one of my favorite books The Book Thief by Markus Zusak…it’s story takes place during Hitler’s regime told in Narration in the perspective of Death (as a character)…
a note from the Narrator (Death)-
“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race–that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant. None of those things, however, came out of my mouth. All I was able to do was turn to Liesel Meminger and tell her the only truth I truly know. I said it to the book thief and I say it now to you. I AM HAUNTED BY HUMANS.”

I too am haunted by humans…
Our ability to soar to such heights, and sink to such depths….

2 Comments

  1. oops sorry, I didn’t know that was going to pop up like that I just did not know how else to get it to ya.

Your respectful comments are appreciated

