love and heretics

It's better to light a candle than curse the darkness

Grocery Store Evangelism

This is the third time I have been stopped by a gentleman, and invited to the church he pastors at a local grocery store I go to. He stops me to chat, introduces himself and invites me to church, quickly getting in as fast as he can ” isn’t it wonderful to know that Christ died for our sins, and we are forgiven, and don’t have to suffer eternal judgement if we believe on him”….
he has handed out vacation bible school flyers as well in the past and asked if i had kids…
(I think he haunts the store 🙂 )

Today I thought about how easy it would be to take the card to the management and say…this guy is harassing me…

But…in all honesty, I realize he is just trying to do what he believes he must…
And that for him, it is an act of love.

I remember feeling that frenzy inside, that need to “tell the good news’ which i firmly believed was that we “must believe in Jesus, that he is the son of God, that he died for our sins, that we are all sinners deserving of death, and that through payment of blood we are given life…

I remember feeling that burning feeling inside of a little bit of fear, and yet driven by courage and what to me was love, and hope that others would not burn for all eternity…..

I now believe differently about the death of the man named Jesus… I believed he had a message…(his teachings) and that he died that his message would live…a way of life…

that salvation lies in how we live….
what are we saved from by following his teachings?
hell?
or anger, hate, greed, pride, selfishness….etc…

That there is a better way to live…..
love, forgiveness, kindness, treating others as we would be treated, gentleness, self control, compassion for those who have little, for those who have needs….for those who are hungry, hurt, or suffering…and that we can give and do something about it.

and so, instead I just smiled at the man, took the card (again) and said I am not interested in church at this time, but I do thank you for your concern.

8 Comments

  1. realityenchanted

    Yeah! It lies in how we live, and how we talk, AND HOW we spread the message about Christ. This is partly because there are so many misconceptions now about God that any one way is not enough. It has to be through any means possible.

  2. “…love, forgiveness, kindness, treating others as we would be treated, gentleness, self control, compassion for those who have little, for those who have needs….for those who are hungry, hurt, or suffering…and that we can give and do something about it.”

    indeed- and the best thing about it all? all this can be achieved WITHOUT religion
    people are good in themselves, and do not need a god to bring it out of them, just a reason worth doing it- for me, it is my partner and love, for others it could be their child, parent, cat/dog etc….anything but a god.

    kind regards+followed
    rich

    • Beautifully said Rich. I too have seen this path acheived with and without religion. I am thankful for those who have inspired us to be more than carbon based life forms… 😉
      And to see that there are choices as to how we live / survive.

  3. You are a good person. After reading just three of your blogs I can tell that you are genuine and honest and open. That is rare and refreshing! I look forward to catching up on your other posts.

    • What a very kind thing to say. I am equally delighted in finding your blog, and look forward to further reading. 🙂 I must thank the guy with one eye for the introduction.

  4. When I was a christian I’ve several occasions, when I was a christian where people would stop me and try to witness to me. And I would have to stop and try to convice them. On several occasions, sometimes me and that person knew some of the same people, so the conversion would quickly turn from evangelism to a friendly conversation of just another christian brethren.

    But now that I am no longer a christian I kind of hope someone would stop me in the street, so I can tell them and educate them about their own religion. (Unfortunately it has not happened, but I am keeping my fingers crossed.)

    • your time will come M. You do much already with your blog. 🙂

Your respectful comments are appreciated

