love and heretics

It's better to light a candle than curse the darkness

God does not play dice…(happy birthday mr P!)

God does not play dice with the universe;He plays an ineffable game of his own devising, which might be compared, from the perspective of any of the other players, to being involved in an obscure and complex version of poker in a pitch dark room, with blank cards, for infinite stakes, with a dealer who won’t tell you the rules, and who smiles all the time.Terry Pratchett (in Good Omens)

Happy Birthday Mr P! Thanks for all the smiles!~
A few more for good measure…

“Give a man a fire and he’s warm for the day. But set fire to him and he’s warm for the rest of his life.”

“For animals, the entire universe has been neatly divided into things to (a) mate with, (b) eat, (c) run away from, and (d)rocks.”

“A marriage is always made up of two people who are prepared to swear that only the other one snores.” “Geography is just physics slowed down, with a couple of trees stuck in it.”

“There are, it has been said, two types of people in the world. There are those who, when presented with a glass that is exactly half full, say: this glass is half full. And then there are those who say: this glass is half empty. The world belongs, however, to those who can look at the glass and say: What’s up with this glass? Excuse me? Excuse me? This is my glass? I don’t think so. My glass was full! And it was a bigger glass!”

and…my favorite….where Death (temporarily replacing Hogfather) speaks with Susan…

““All right,” said Susan. “I’m not stupid. You’re saying humans need… fantasies to make life bearable.”REALLY? AS IF IT WAS SOME KIND OF PINK PILL? NO. HUMANS NEED FANTASY TO BE HUMAN. TO BE THE PLACE WHERE THE FALLING ANGEL MEETS THE RISING APE.”Tooth fairies? Hogfathers? Little—”YES. AS PRACTICE. YOU HAVE TO START OUT LEARNING TO BELIEVE THE LITTLE LIES.”So we can believe the big ones?”YES. JUSTICE. MERCY. DUTY. THAT SORT OF THING.”They’re not the same at all!”YOU THINK SO? THEN TAKE THE UNIVERSE AND GRIND IT DOWN TO THE FINEST POWDER AND SIEVE IT THROUGH THE FINEST SIEVE AND THEN SHOW ME ONE ATOM OF JUSTICE, ONE MOLECULE OF MERCY. AND YET—Death waved a hand. AND YET YOU ACT AS IF THERE IS SOME IDEAL ORDER IN THE WORLD, AS IF THERE IS SOME…SOME RIGHTNESS IN THE UNIVERSE BY WHICH IT MAY BE JUDGED.”Yes, but people have got to believe that, or what’s the point—”MY POINT EXACTLY.” ― Terry Pratchett, Hogfather

10 Comments

  1. I like! The Ark has got me onto Pratchett, and i’ve not been disappointed. A marvelous mind.

  2. Ah…my word, another true blue -ing Terry Pratchett fan.
    My favorite -ing author, living dead or in between, bless him. Total -ing genius.

    • Dear Ark, have you read any of Douglas Adams?

      • Only Hitchhikers. Which I quite enjoyed, but less so the other stuff.
        I prefer Tom Sharpe after TP.
        When I began to write I didn’t think anyone else thought ike me, then my kids introduced me to Pratchett and I thought, well, there you go..and that led to my first novel and its publication.
        Even John has a copy!

        • Ah! Mr Ark! I will have to have a go at your book then!!!! how exciting!
          AND…i have not heard of Tom Sharpe before….so it sounds as if I shall have some fun ahead of me. Have you done your own list of favorites?
          And have you a link for your work?

          • On my blog you see the widget on the right of the page.
            The book is called Almost Dead in Suburbia. In case you miss the Black Cat on the page…
            http://www.pkaboo.net/bookshop.html#almostdead

            Follow the link. There’s brief blurb and a few reviews…It’s in paperback and e format.
            Hope it brings a smile…

        • I couldn’t get enough of Tom Sharpe when i was in school.

  3. indeed. A delight! But alas, He is facing bearing the burden of Alzheimer’s and still…
    his diagnosis has given him a new lease of life. As seen here…
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/lifestyle/9532983/Sir-Terry-Pratchett-I-thought-my-Alzheimers-would-be-a-lot-worse-than-this-by-now.html

  4. Those are great quotes!

    • So glad you enjoyed them!

Your respectful comments are appreciated

