love and heretics

It's better to light a candle than curse the darkness

Atheist dogma?

 

Some of the most common accusations against atheists seem to be about assumed dogma. The truth is, I haven’t yet found a list of beliefs an atheist adheres to.  The only requirement is unbelief. Specifically unbelief in a god or gods. Beyond that one linking requirement you will find atheists all over the spectrum on any given topic.

Is science atheist dogma? No.   Science is not a dogma. It is a process. As an atheist I do not claim to have the answers to all things. Especially things that at this time we can not know. What I can say is that using science we are able to recognize Best Answers with the information we have at any given time fully recognizing  that our Best Answers are subject to influence of new information and knowledge. 

I find this far more satisfactory than any dogma.

4 Comments

  1. Hello Holly.
    How nice to see you writing again

    • Thanks Mak! tis good to be back

  2. rautakyy

    Exellent post.

    Indeed it seems to me, that there are these religious memes like a claim about an atheist dogma, or that atheism is just a nother religion, going about, that try to justify belief without evidence aka religious faith, by making up these ridiculous strawmen about atheism, or atheists. As if it would make religious faith any more warranted, if atheism was based on equally bad logic as religions are? Because none of these made up claims seem to get over to where atheism was based on worse logic than religious faith, even if they were true… And they are not, for the reasons mentioned in the topic post.

    In no way is this only a “sin” of the religious people, but similar excuses of ideals, are common when people have assumed some claims as part of their identity without even bothering to check out wether these ideals are actually based on reality, or not. Or when they are ill equipped to evaluate reality (like when they do not understand the scientific processes). It makes one wonder how low a person may go to give excuses to parts of their identity and wether if I am guilty of the same on some other ideological front? I can only go with the idea, that since I at least am aware of this possibility, I can be wary of it and maybe avoid such.

    Is this also evidence of the religious being taught to be gullible? That they are ready to believe such nonsense about atheism and atheists, without asking an atheist ever? And what does it tell us about religious thinking processes when they refuse to give up such strawmen even when they finally confront an actual atheist who easily debunks the entire notion?

    • Good points, Rautakky. I find it important to remind myself to ask clarifying questions in discussions with others to avoid assumptions so I am not guilty of the same. I do remember when I was a christian it really got my goat when people would make statements accusing me of loving an evil wicked god. Of course I did no such thing. But the person discussing with me had a different perspective and understanding than I did. I have found some thoughts by Ben Franklin on humility to be helpful in such attempts.

      I do believe regarding the idea of being taught to be gullible, that it is more of being taught assumptions, because addressing those assumptions (oftentimes strawmen) are easier than addressing truth.

Your respectful comments are appreciated

